Boehner Squeezes Out Reelection: See Who Voted Against Him

January 6th’s vote in the House of Representatives for Speaker closed the door on speculation that a coup d’etat by conservative House Republicans was afoot against incumbent Speaker John Boehner.

By the slimmest of margins since the Civil War, Boehner was re-elected as Speaker winning 216 votes. Needing at least 205 votes to retain his leadership post, only a handful of votes to the contrary might have thrown the speakership in doubt. Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., the former speaker and his closest rival, received 164 votes.

After being sworn in again as Speaker of the 114th Congress, Boehner fired back at critics of Congress, “They say nothing will be accomplished here, that the division is wider, so the gridlock will be greater. That’s all fair enough. Skepticism of the government is healthy, and in our time, quite understandable.”

He continued, “As Speaker, all I ask – and, frankly, expect – is that we disagree without being disagreeable. In return, I pledge to help each of you carry out your duties. My door, of course, is always open. Just don’t get carried away.”

A full 25 Republican Congressmen voted against Boehner’s speakership. Rep. Dan Webster received 13 of those votes. The rest were split Representatives Gohmert, Yoho, and Jordan. Senators Rand Paul and Jeff Sessions even each garnered one vote.

Here is the full list, alphabetically:

1.  Rep. Justin Amash (Mich.) – Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio)
2. Rep. Brian Babin (Tex.) – “present”
3. Rep. Rod Blum (Iowa) – Rep. Dan Webster (R-Fla.)
4. Rep. Dave Brat (Va.) – Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.)
5. Rep. Jim Bridenstine (Okla.) – Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Tex.)
6. Rep. Curt Clawson (Fla.) – Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.)
7. Rep. Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.) – Jordan
8. Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.) – Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.)
9. Rep. Scott Garrett (N.J.) – Webster
10. Rep. Chris Gibson (N.Y.) – House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.)
11. Rep. Paul Gosar (Ariz.) – Webster
12. Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Tex.) – Gohmert
13. Rep. Tim Huelskamp (Kan.) – Webster
14. Rep. Walter Jones (N.C.) – Webster
15. Rep. Steve King – Webster
16. Rep. Tom Massie (Ky.) – Rep. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.)
17. Rep. Mark Meadows (N.C.) – Webster
18. Rep. Rich Nugent (Fla.) – Webster
19. Rep. Gary Palmer (Ala.) – Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)
20. Rep. Bill Posey (Fla.) – Webster
21. Rep. Scott Rigell (Va.) – Webster
22. Rep. Marlin Stutzman (Ind.) – Webster
23. Rep. Randy Weber (Tex.) – Gohmert
24. Rep. Dan Webster (R-Fla.) – Webster
25. Rep. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.) – Yoho