Trump To Sign Updated Travel Ban Order

President Trump is due to sign a new version of the travel ban order that will stop the refugees program and people from certain countries access to the United States. Counselor Kellyanne Conway confirmed with Fox News that the updated order would include revisions that clarified confusing points from the original.

Fox News adds: “Among other changes, she said the new order will clearly exclude legal permanent residents and leave Iraq off a list of countries whose residents would be subject to a temporary travel ban. She also indicated the new version would no longer indefinitely bar Syrian refugees.”

According to a draft of the new order, citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen will have to undergo a 90-day suspension of visa processing. Iraq is expected to no longer be included in this group. Other expected changes include handling all refugees with visas equally and ridding of any language pertaining to religious priority. These changes, along with the new order, sprout from the federal court halt of Trump’s original ban.

read more